Sign in to follow this  
Jukebox Jonesie

GM / Buick Lovers I need HELP

Dear Buick fans or any classic car lover,

I am new to the classic's but knew id own one soon after seeing the special in movies like this boys life and dont tell mom the babysitter is dead. I finally just bought a 1955 Buick special 3 speed on the column with 80k miles on it. Since im in my 20s this older technology on this car is like my grandparents with my ipod, definitely takes reading and just getting under the hood.

After not running for 25yrs I changed the battery, drained all fluids, bought new non detergent oil and an oil canister filter, put lead addictive in the gas & she fired right up.

Issue 1.) Now I can feel the clutch is slipping badly and needs to be replaced. The issue im having is the correct parts and how to do it. I cant find a clutch kit for sale ( I can but not sure what size ) nor do I know the best way to change it. Ive seen pull the motor or some tube and rear end forum.

Issue 2.) Now it wont start. Which I think im going to buy a new starter and solenoid so that takes 2 of the maybes gone. I heard the relay or switch by the carb and manifold can go bad but rare. The motor wont even turn over with a new battery but everything comes on so I think its one of those I listed but any info is much appreciated.

Thanks for your time & help : )