17 inch center style valve stem (TR-6) inner tube for 33 Plymouth help needed

1935EB

I am purchasing tires for my 1933 Plymouth project. It will use the wire wheels and an inner tube with the center valve stem (TR-6). Offset valve stems (TR-4) as used on Fords and Chevys' are available. The people at some large tire suppliers say that no one makes an automotive tube for 17 inch wheels and with center style valve stems.

My questions are these:

Could I use an offset style valve stem?

Some have suggested a motor cycle tube with center valve stem. The valve stem is smaller and shorter than a car. What problems might I encounter with these?

Your help is appreciated.

Chris

I've been using motorcycle tubes on my 33 Plymouth for several years now for the reasons you mention.

I've had no particular issues but the heavy duty ones seem to hold air better than the "standard" ones. With the previous set of tires I did not have the heavy duty ones and they lost a couple of pounds of pressure per week. The heavy duty ones I have with the current tires hold air pretty well. I still check every week out of habit but generally they don't need air. Just looked around for my last receipt to see exactly what I have in there and I can't find it.

There aren't that many motorcycles that use a tube that big so your local store may not stock them. Or if they stock them they may not stock five of them. So call first.

The hole in the rim is for the larger car tire stem. I use a fender washer to cover. IIRC I used a 1/4" ID washer and needed to drill it out slightly to fit the stem.

My car is filthy at the moment, so please pardon the dirt on the wheels.

post-30650-143142379317_thumb.jpg

Thanks Bob and Todd,

The guy's at Lucas indicated to use metal stems as this could solve the problem of being too short etc.

An offset stem is only 5 degrees offset and I think they should work. That's why I am asking for folks who have done this.