Newbie...Just saying hello and seeking a little advice

Guest Tim Floyd

Guest Tim Floyd

Hello everyone. Newbie here with a quick question. I recently got my dream car, 63 Riviera. I have obsessed over these cars since was 16 years old, and finally at 36 I found the car for me. The car is complete and in pretty solid shape, especially considering what I paid for it. It turns over and starts and will run on its own. Seems held back for lack of a better word? when I tried to drive it, So I have not driven it for more than a couple of yard lengths. I know the car sat for quite some time, and has the original 401 in it. It has had a valve job a few years ago according to the owner, and I found the reciept for the work. Does anyone know of a good, RELIABLE resource in or near SW Missouri that I could take the car too for a thorough look over? I don't want to hand this off to just any "Joe Mechanic". I have owned some early 60's Chevys, but the Buick is a new animal to me. Thanks!

Welcome to the Forum. If no one posts a reputable shop in your area you can try going to a local respected auto parts store such as NAPA and ask them if they know someone who works on the older classics. I say NAPA because around here many shops use them as their primary source for parts. If you can wait until cruise/show season another option is to visit them and network with other people who have old cars. You are correct in thinking you don't want to take it to the average shop. As simple as these cars are being they've largely been absent from the roads in any great numbers for 30 years generations of mechanics grow up not having exposure to them.

Welcome to the Riviera Forum, Tim!

You will find many helpful people here and lots of info.

I am the ROA Technical Advisor for the 1963 Riv, your new best friend. Please join the ROA.

Even if you are not doing the work yourself, learn all you can about your car. You will probably have to loan your shop manual to your mechanic.