Should I buy these Rolls Royces?

Rusty_OToole

I have wanted a Rolls for a long time but they are pretty expensive, even used ones. Then I saw this ad:

"Estate Sale. Two 81's for sale WAS $15000. each. Will consider a package deal of $25,000.

Silver Spur -Silver 45 000 miles AS IS. NEW PRICE $13,500.

Silver Spur -Blue over painted was white 110 000 miles AS IS. NEW PRICE $ 13,000."

Now I am thinking of buying the pair and selling one of them in the spring, and end up with a Rolls for a few thousand dollars.

Any Rolls Royce experts who can tell me what I should look for if I view them?

I have 20 years experience working in garages and body shops, have my own tools, and have owned 8 Mercedes ranging from 1958 to 1984 but never worked on a Rolls Royce.

You never know your luck. I checked the ads again and this turned up:

Very clean, great running Rolls. Interior shows signs of usage but is tear-free. Body does have small issues. High mileage but low price. From the estate of percussionist Peter Appleyard.

This one is a 1987 Silver Spirit with 295,000 Km or 180,000 miles.

These are the first Rolls Royces I have seen in the local ads for under $20,000 that weren't wrecks or from the 70s or both.

Incidentally there is a 69 Silver Shadow for $10,000 and a 74 for $15,000 if a Silver Shadow would be a better car or easier to keep in repair?

Usually they're a lot less expensive to buy than they are to maintain, but if you discover how to work on them yourself, that might work out for you. Search the Internet for forums dealing with the specific models. If you find a group, that solves 90 of the battle right there. If you can't find a help group, I'd recommend treading the R-R waters very carefully.