Parts to rebuild a 1921 multi-disc clutch?

I received an e-mail from a 1921 Buick owner in Spain, who wants to know where he can obtain the parts to rebuild the multi-disc clutch in his car. I can't help, as I've never done nor had that done before. Does anyone have a source? HIs e-mail is pjuncosa@laprotectora.com Here is his inquiry:

I have a 6 cyl Buick the year 1921 and I need the parts to overhaul the clutch discs.

Live in Pamplona, Spain.

I appreciate your contribution.

Regards Paul

PABLO JUNCOSA BLASCOP.R.L .- MantenimientoLA PROTECTORA S.A.Carretera Orcoyen, s/n 31012 Pamplona (Navarra)T 948 25 19 12 F 948 17 22 62

I am not aware of anyone selling 'new' discs. I have heard of owners getting the discs re-lined. The correct friction lining thickness is important or the multi disc 'stack' will be too tall to fit in the clutch assembly and still release. I know Buick states in the parts book how thick the brake lining material should be, not sure if they do the same for the clutch. Leif (Master of the Master Parts List) what do they say? Anything on clutch lining thickness?

In my case, finding used discs that are in better shape than the ones that are worn is what I did. The outer 'ear tabs' that ride on the hub tend to wear, and need to be checked before purchasing any used discs (to be used or re-lined).

I 'heard' someone made discs out of round skill saw blades. Not sure if it is true.

I also remember there is a right and wrong way to assemble the 'stack' and then also to install it. And there is an end disc too. Easy to screw up. Mine was in wrong when I bought my car and I was lucky to catch it upon re-assembly. Take a good close look at the cut-away drawing in the owners manual for the correct orientation and end disc.

There is a pilot bushing in the end of the crankshaft for the transmission input shaft nose. My pilot bushing was missing too.