Recommended 1st Franklin

OnSafari

Hello all,

I am keen to add a Franklin to my collection, and I'm thinking a series 12 is the way to go, mainly due to the fact that they have 4 wheel hydraulic brakes. I would be intersted in anyones driving impressions between the series 11 and 12 cars and whether one is preferred to the other??????

I am used to driving my grandfathers 1929 633 Packard sedan and 1926 426 Packard roadster, and I hope a Franklin is a lighter car to drive than the 633!

Thanks in advance.

Lyndon James

I'm not a Franklin owner but have heard that they are an easy riding, easy to drive car with their full elliptic springs and wooden chassis frame.

They were not the most powerful car but could cover more ground in a day, than more powerful cars with higher top speed, due to the excellent riding and handling qualities.

I'm fairly new to Franklins, and just attended my first Trek. Great time, great folks, so if I had a recommendation it's to buy the best Franklin you can afford and join the fun. My only perspective comes from my two cars, an 11B roadster and a series 15 convertible coupe. The 11B is a delight to drive, and tours comfortably at 40 mph. It'll do better, but 40 is comfortable. The 15 has wonderful power and is great for hilly country. My car has overdrive and is comfortable at 55-60, though it will do better. From observing other Franklins touring in upstate New York, the earlier cars take a fairly leisurely pace and have some difficulty on steep hills. The later cars keep up with normal traffic. I do a lot of touring in brass cars, at 30-35 mph, so slowness doesn't bother me. What I like about the Franklins is the handling, the comfort and the dependability. After my week at the Trek, I also like the club.