Sign in to follow this  
edhd58

It's amazing just how stupid I can be

I amazed myself at my own stupidity tonight. It's my first attempt at body/paint work. After two weeks of off and on work on the right rear fender its was ready for epoxy primer. That's what I've been told by everybody to put down first. Went to the best local auto paint suppy shop and got what I was told I needed in material and supplies. When mixing my second, note I say second batch of primer it occurs to me I just read the cup wrong and mixed the stuff 50/50, not 2 to 1 like its supposed to be. Sitting there waiting for the primer to get ready to spray is when I really for the first time studied all the markings at the 2 to1 to 1 marks. Yep, it has 2:1:1 columns. Wow what a bonehead I feel like. I hope this doesn't mean another down to the metal sanding weekend.

In my younger days, I rarely made stupid mistakes. Since i've got older, I have to check behind myself all the time; and still mess up. I went on vacation last week and tried to check into the wrong hotel.

I can only speak for myself, but you are far from the only person on this board who has done something like that. Can you imagine all the time and money wasted on boneheadedness in the car world alone??? :)

Definitely not alone. I used to paint cars back in the 70's and I repaired a lot of back yard screw-ups. I had to repaint one car that had refused to cure properly. It had been done for over a year, but still peeled back with your finger nail. I assume someone had sprayed it in air dry enamel with no drier or hardener, but they never did really own up to what had happened. If your primer isn't setting up properly, I would suggest removing it. You may get lucky and get away with normal sanding and recoating however.

I've never made any mistakes.

My wife told me once. "You're not perfect."

I said. "Yes I am"

She said. "You're not perfect"

I said. 'Yes I am."

She said. "No you're not."

I said. "Damn near"

Bill H