Hardtop roof maintenance 1925 10C

Scott in PA

Hi Folks! Well I'm bringing my new-to-me Franklin home in two days! I was trying to ask about roof maintenance in my last post but I obviously wasn't specific enough. The car is a 1925 10C 4 DR hardtop sedan. What do I need to do to: 1) clean the roof and 2)seal/protect the roof material? Here is a link I found from another guy I think was asking the same thing, there aren't many responses:

http://forums.aaca.org/f120/1929-canvas-roof-care-324909.html

Thanks,

Scott

Scott, From the 20's up to the 60's "top Dressing" was sold in every automotive store in the contry including JC Whitney, Warshawsky, Western Auto, Pep Boys etc. Then it seemed to loose favor and dissapeared. I recently found it being sold again at MACS Auto Parts under the same old name of "Top Dressing" Part #RSP70 in their Model A Ford section. their website is www.macsautoparts.com . I have no personal experience with the product so I can't endorse or condem it. But it is what was used for years on the soft section of hard top autos.

Bill

• 1 month later...
Guest myold88

I still have a full 8 OZ can of top dressing I found in my '29 Franklin back in the early 70's. The brand was

made by the Permatex Co, Sheepshead Bay, N.Y. and is called "Anti-Storm dressing".

Funny the things people save- lol

Edited by myold88 (see edit history)

• 1 month later...