52 Hudson Stuck Temp Sensor

Guest chrishanlon

Guest chrishanlon

hello everyone -- this is my first time and first day on the site -- I started my kid's great-grandfather's hornet last sunday after working on it for about a year -- today installed a new pertronix ignition -- it is now running great! I want to install a new temp gage and know how to do so, but the old sensor unit is stuck bad -- really, really bad. I am starting to think I may be doing something wrong. Can anyone tell me if the sensor unit screws right into the head? How do I get that darn thing out? Thanks everyone!

Guest chrishanlon

Hi commodore! It is the Alcoa aluminum head - sending unit is on the drivers side, front

Chris,I have a 53 with the cast iron head. A problem with the aluminum head is that the bimetal action that occurs with the brass sensor against the aluminum metal alloy. The two tend to fuse. Try soaking with either Kroil or Liquid Wrench. The best penetrating oil, IMO, is a mix of trans fluid & acetone( Ace hwdr).Continue to apply and attempt to move the sensor with small amounts of torque with a deep well socket. The final solution would be to remove the head, but that will surely open a can of worms with the headbolts and aluminum head. I believe that aluminum should not have torque placed upon it when warm , See removing spark plugs from Corvairs. But, try going to the Classic Car .com site for the Hudson,Essex Terraplanes . I really advise in addition to the AACA, that you join the HET Club. These cars have their own quirks and characteristics. Ron