'40 Columbia Overdrive

Ron K.

I am new to the Lincoln, have never driven a vehicle with a Columbia and have recently succeeded in starting and driving my Cabriolet that had been in storage since 1958. I replaced the vacuum lines to and from the electrical actuated switch on the firewall and when activated, the speedometer needle momentarily drops to zero and I hear a "thunk" sound in the rear end. Sometimes lately, I hear a grinding sound and the car is momentarily in neutral but goes back into low (I did get it into high one time). The vacuum lines under the car look okay but I am sure that they are in need of replacement and wonder if this could be the problem. The other possibility is faulty seals (if there are any) on the actuating piston on the rear end. I am using 5/16" Fuel Line for vacuum lines, will that work? I would appreciate any advice as to the solution and recommendations of a repair manual for the Columbia.

Ron

Suspect the leather seals in the vacuum shifting cylinder need to be replaced or "softened up". Many years ago when I had a '40 with a Columbia I would re-grease the vacuun cylinder occausionally and this would seal it enough to make the shifts. You might try this.

I am sorry sir, that is what I was referring to, the rubber lines. One of my shifting problems was not knowing the procedure of how to operate the electrical toggle switch, found the instructions yesterday and will try doing it by the book (sure was nice of Lincoln Motor Company to offer them from the factory but not to put how to operate them in the Owners Manual). I also talked to John Connelly at Columbia Two Speed Parts and got a wealth of information and warnings about the cleaning up the can and other things.