1925 Touring

Guest broughj

Guest broughj

Hi, New to the AACA and the forums. I am trying to figure out what to do with my Dad's 25-45. He passed away last year. He has owned the car since the mid 1960's and restored it. It is in running condition, although he was tinkering with the fuel system because of some problem so getting it to run may take a little work. I am an amateur restorer, but my interest is in muscle cars and currently in a 68 vette. Not sure I have the time or interest in the Buick. If Mom decides to sell it, what would be a reasonable value? I don't have a picture right now, but I'll try to get and post some. I realize the value is highly dependent on condition and that condition is impossible to determine without inspection of the car, but a low to high range would be helpful. I can say that the car is in running condition, the body is solid, paint is fair, interior is complete and in good condition, top is in good shape, and the car has good tires. Dad always told me that the shift pattern was different than a standard 3 speed. What is the shift pattern, so if I try to move it out of the shed I won't run it through the shed.

Thanks for your help,

John Brough

Guest Texas Old Car Guy

John:

Early Buicks had a "reverse H" shift pattern, meaning beginning in neutral, 1st is to the right and back, 2nd is forward and to the left and then forward again (where Reverse would normally be), and 3rd is straight back from 2nd (where 1st would normally be). Reverse is to the right from neutral and forward (where 2nd would normally be).

It is impossible for anyone to guess a value range without first seeing several good quality photos of the car's condition.

Good luck,

Fred