Gordon Buehrig's personal car?

MarrsCars

I posted this over on the ACD subforum about 8-months ago but have no replies so far so thought I'd shoot for the collected knowledge of the group. Here is the thread, basically I am looking for Gordon Buehrig's personal car, a specially made Cord. http://forums.aaca.org/f156/info-gordon-buehrigs-personal-car-327172.html

I'm not a Buehrig expert but I believe this was the only Cord he owned. It currently resides at the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum. As far as I know it's a standard model.

24700301361.jpg

Help yourself to the photo. Copyright me, story here:

A visit to the Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum | Mac's Motor City Garage

Guest Rob McDonald

I'd be surprised if Gordon Buehrig ever owned a Cord, unless he bought it used. He said in the linked interview that he was required to drive a company car but it was probably a demonstrator, which was eventually sold to a customer. I've always understood that automotive designers and engineers in the Classic period didn't make any more money than the accountants in the office or even the top men on the assembly line. Some gifted designers employed by car makers were independently wealthy, such as Brooks Stevens, and considered their salaries to be just a token appreciation of their work.