1930 Model "A" My Gramp gave me

Guest John Mac

Guest John Mac

I was given my Gramps 1930 model A. Im currently stationed in NJ and live near Fort Dix. It has been in the family since it was purchased by my great aunt for the farm. Its my turn now. It has never been restored that I am aware of but has been maintained. I was driving it a few weeks back and it was back firing. I tried to fix it by adjusting the timing but now I have buggered it all up. I am geting no spark. Im kind of new at this game of mechanics and was wondering if anyone lives near by and come take a look at it. Might be a quick easy fix for someone who knows what they are doing. Ive tried several manuals and downloaded many insrtuctions. I am at my wits end. Thank you to anyone who can help or point me in the right direction.

Welcome to the AACA Discussion Forum. I am not near by but I can recommend a few things. I suggest replacing the condensor as the most likely fix for backfiring. Another possibility is too rich a fuel situation.

I suggest you purchase a copy of the Model A Ford Mechanics Handbook (Volume 1) by Les Andrews. This book is available from any Model A Ford parts supplier. The troubleshooting charts and other information will prove valuable in solving this and future problems.

My personal favorite supplier is Bratton's. You can check out their website at:

http://www.brattons.com/