Toasted 455 - What to do next?

I am a proud owner of a 67 Lark 2dr. Ht. The previous owner swapped in a 455 and a TH400 and did a top end rebuild. The block is either a 75 or 76 with stock heads, a mild/stock cam, and an aluminum intake and Holley carb. I seized up the engine on a hot day courtesy of a short circuited temperature gage, so it's sitting in storage for the winter awaiting it's fate. My question is this: knowing that this in not the stock engine anyways do I put approximately $3K into the rebuild or try to purchase a used engine for considerably less money. I am a college student so money is a factor, as well is the space and time needed to do a swap myself. Basically, is this engine worth sticking that money into or do I start over, perhaps with a pre-built TA long block, for a similar price? I would appreciate any help that you guys can give. Thank you in advance.

I'd go with a TA block, short or long is up to you. If you are unsure about the condition of the heads then I think a long block is the way to go. Otherwise, just use your previously rebuilt heads and go for a short block.<P>Matthew

Short block generally means block, crank pisotns & rods, cam. Long block is usually short block plus heads and valve train, sometimes intake.<P>If money is the driving factor, why not pull out your current motor and see what is locked up. You may find that you can get it going again for far less than $3k.

Talk to car club members and people at shows and find the better rebuilders in your area.<BR>Go check out the shops. Find one you like and discuss your options.. IE.. You pull engine and bring it in for rebuild (cheapest) They pull and rebuild it (Add at least 1000.00) Buy an already done long Block and install it your self. There are lots of options. You should spend 2000.00 to 2500.00 max. Best of all most GOOD shops will give you at least 12 months of warranty.<P>------------------<BR>Gatomon