64 Riviera Transmission

Guest 64SFrivi

Guest 64SFrivi

Hello folks,

Sorry for same treads, still getting familiar with the forum.

I had a question I am trying to rebuild my 64 Buick Riviera's transmission. Looking for an master overhaul kit, but when I do most sites sell a TH-400 kit, even though 64 Rivi's came with a ST-400. Do they just categorize the transmissions differently ?

Or what is the difference between a TH-400 vs ST-400 or is there any? I just don't want to buy a kit and find out their are a slight differences. Most places had really bad return policies. If anyone can help would greatly appreciate it.

thanks!

I have a Buick Master Parts Book, 1940 to 1971 Inclusive, and the book calls it the transmission a Turbo Hydra-Matic 400. My understanding is that Buick called it "Switch Pitch" and the other GM divisions called it a "Turbo Hydramatic."

That being said, the part number for the Master Overhaul Kit for a 64 is Group 4.005 8625966 and for 65-71 it is 4.005 8625967.

Another Buick Master parts Book, 1958 - 1968 lists the 64 overhaul kit as 4.005 8623997 and the 65-68 at 4.005 8625904, superseding 8624963.

Even though the part numbers don't match, at least this tells us that there must be an internal difference between the 64 and the later transmissions.

Guest 64SFrivi

Thank you!

This is where I ran into this question:

On Fatsco Transmission website: Fatsco Transmission Parts Antique Kits they list the part as: TH 400 1964 127-LX

Classic Buicks: Buick transmission overhaul kit Super-Turbine 400 ST-400 Transmission parts for classic Buick, Buick Parts, classic Buick transmissions, vintage Buick's antique buicks, kits Classic Buick parts, high quality and exceptional value!

has `64 Wildcat-Electra Riviera Master Overhaul Kit with gaskets, seals, sealing rings & friction clutches Super-Turbine 400 ST-400