Wanted: Ebay Competitor

lancemb

I have had it with Ebay. As a seller, they have stripped away ability to leave feedback for deabeat buyers who bid up items then don't pay, and saddled on more and more fees. As a buyer, then have created "tools" that allow some sellers to attach tags to items that "fit" cars which don't fit at all, making it cumbersome and lengthy to do a general search for OEM parts for old cars without having to sift through garbage.

If anyone feels similarly and can tackle the software design on a simple auction site, I'd love to start a simple site just for old cars and parts, which allows honest 2-WAY feedback, has no BS products intermingled, and low fees. I have extensive Ebay experience and business knowledge.

Edited by lancemb (see edit history)

Guest Nomosnow

I'm a dinosaur that knows practically nothing about computers but I sure like your idea !E-bay is even taking a percentage of the shipping cost (which is ridiculous) I've just about had it w/them.

I think it (an alternative site focues on car parts) has been done with limited success. E-bay has a critical mass that is tough to beat, and they are gradually taking more of the pie..

When possible I always try to buy and sell on this and a couple other marque specific forums, ideally with "regulars". I have done pretty well here with my nickle and dime parts, but probably this would not support much more than a hobbyist trying to clear spares. More importantly though, I like the thought of making things available to and buying from other forum members when possible. Just another avenue for you if you have not tried it already. :)

More wonderful ebay facts.

If you're a powerseller you are about to lose your 20 percent discount unless you provide tracking for every item you ship, ship everything out within 1 day and offer a no questions asked 14 day return policy where you are responsible for the shipping.