Recommendations for performance upgrades 70 Riviera

I have a stock 455 70 Riviera that I'd like to tweak up as a weekend toy. I've been drooling over the Poston catalog and trying to decide what to buy. I want to keep the car street driveable but don't mind living with less than excellent gas mileage, octane boosters, and a rough idle. I have other daily driver cars. My thoughts so far:<BR>-Poston Stage 1 ported heads (worth the $1k?)<BR>-Rebuild mine or buy rebuilt TH400 w/3000 rpm switch pitch converter<BR>-Poston crossflow intake<BR>-Poston headers<BR>-Poston rebuilt Q-jet<BR>-Custom 3" exhaust system w/Flowmaster mufflers<BR>-new cam (need ideas here)<BR>-posi rearend w/3.23 or 3.5 ratio (need ideas here also, currently 10 bolt non-posi)<BR>-other ideas?<P>Also, the engine has 63K original miles and doesn't burn any oil. Should I go all the way and rebuild the block now or slap on the go-fast parts and see what happens?<P>Thanks guys, I'm new to Buicks and appreciate your feedback.<P>John

I would wait on the $1k heads until you are ready for a full rebuild. I bought the th400 with the 3000 stall converter, works great in my skylark, should be even better in the riv.<BR>I would go with intake, cam, headers and carb and see where it gets you. Also a good time to look at the oil pump and timing chain. I went with the 2.5" exhaust system. It was a little cheaper. 3.42 gears with posi would be my rear choice. You can swap a gm HEI distributor from a later buick 350 (use the gear from the 455) or go with the Pertronix kit. both work well.

• 2 years later...