Pertronix electronic ignition

Looking into putting in an electronic ignition on my '65 Skylark. Hate to do anything non-stock, but out of all the modernization options, this one makes the most sense to me.<P>I think this has been covered somewhere else on the board but I was just wondering if someone could point me to where I can get the specific Pertronix I need for my 300 4-bbl for a good price.<P>Are the performance and fuel efficiency claims true?<P>Also, how hard are these things to install? I'm no mechanical genius, I just love old cars and I usually just do my best not to mess them up too bad when I'm working on them. smile.gif Will I have to mess around with the timing or anything when I put it in?<P>Thanks,<BR>Carl

Installed one on my 1972 GS 455 last year. The supplied instructions seemed pretty straightforward and I haven't had any trouble since. They have ads in many auto publications. I would call them up at 1-800-685-1492 to be sure. An ad in Hemming's says they have an application for 1957 to 1974 GM 8-cylinder vehicles. Make sure you ask them if you may need to replace your coil with a higher voltage one. I did not have to. I can tell the difference on initial engine start... the spark gets there quicker. Performance seems unaffected, but I have talked to people whose engines ran 5 to 10 degrees cooler. My operating temperature remains the same. Can't tell any difference in fuel economy, but I didn't expect any. I still get 11 or 12 mpg. I think they are definitely worth the $79 price.