1955 Buick Roadmaster

Jeff Trahan

I'm trying to get a '55 Roadmaster started after it has sat for 30 years outside my uncle's garage. Couldn't get a spark even with a lot of new electrical components. So I took the distributor out and cleaned it and put new electrical leads inside. Now I need to get the distributor back in. I read in another thread that I might have to turn the oil pump with a screwdriver to get it lined up correctly. How exactly do I do that? Jack the car up and look for a screw somewhere on the oil pump from below? Also, can I use a power drill on that same screw to make sure I'll get oil pressure if the engine ever does start? I appreciate any help I can get. As you can tell, I'm a newbie at this.

If you look at the end of the distributor shaft, you will see that it has a spade/screwdriver type tip on the end. It goes into a slot on the oil pump. The only way one may get to that slot is with a long-handled screwdriver.

I do not understand why one would need to turn the oil pump to get the distributor back in, and would caution against doing so. The only reason for doing so would be to circulated oil inside the engine prior to it actually running under load.

It is hoped you marked the position of the distributor before removal? It is critical to put it back in that same position. That should be able to be accomplished by getting the unit close to your marks and use of slight movement in either direction to have the end of the distributor shaft fall into the slot on the oil pump.

Thanks for the advice. I did move the oil pump a little with a screwdriver before re-installing the distributor, first one way then the other. It must have just been luck, because it dropped right in without too much trouble. I'm thinking it is in the right position because I actually got the car to start. Is there any chance the distributor isn't engaged with the oil pump if the car starts?