"Penn" Automobile Company

I am a freelance writer seeking information on an obscure, and short-lived automobile company that, I think, existed in the Pittsburgh, Pa. area in the early 20th century. Either it or its cars were called "Penn." When it closed, it was rumored to be headed to a new facility in my hometown of New Castle Pa. That new facility was never built and the company disappeared. Can anyone out there help me find more information about this company? confused.gif" border="0

Automobile Quarterly's <I>The American Car Since 1775</I> lists the make as "Penn Thirty", "Penn" having been used twice prior to 1911. <P>It states that the car was made in East Liberty (a neighborhood in Pittsburgh) and New Castle. It gives dates of 1911-1913, but doesn't specify which location at any given date.<P>I hope that helps. smile.gif" border="0

There are two Penn cars. One is the aforementioned 1912 roadster. The other is a 1911 Penn 30 touring now in the Frick museum in Pittsburgh with other Pittsburgh area cars. Several years ago, the touring belonged to my father and it was toured on Reliability tours. It has a Buda engine and three spd transmission. At one point, Penn's had a New Castle connection that we tried to trace, but did not come across anything there. Good luck. smile.gif" border="0

Penn: 1911-1913 by Penn Motor Car Co., Pittsburgh, Pa. The Penn 30 had a 4-cylinder engine of 3.7 litres. It was built in two-seater&five-seater versions, both with 8'9" wheelbases.

• 3 weeks later...