Sign in to follow this  
vwlfan

Need 1915 Standard Eight cooling piping fabrication

Hello,

While not new to the restoration/maintenance of the old car hobby in general I am new to the Horseless Carriage group of early cars.

I recently was able to purchase a 1915 Standard Eight Roadster. The car was restored in the early 60s but has been in storage since the late 60s. Here is a photo of the car after it was delivered to my house last week.

1915_Standard_Eight_Delivery-10.JPG

The car is in very solid condition after being in storage but needs to be sorted out so that we can use the car for tours and such.

We first had to deal with several stuck valves. After a day or two of work we were able to free all the valves.

We then had to start a rework of the fuel system. We have successfully cleared the gas tank, cleared the gas line from tank to engine, rebuilt the vacuum canister, and disassembled, cleaned, and reassembled the carb. There is now a good supply of fuel.

Since we had the carb out of the way we set the gaps for the valves and cut new valve cover gaskets.

Because we had used a lot of penetrating oil and solvent to free the valves we next replaced the oil and added some oil to the top of each piston to add some initial lubrication and compression.

After a few rounds of cleaning the excess oil from the plugs the car started. After a few more adjustments the car will now start with out priming and run indefinitely on its own. A small success in a long journey.

Now to my need for help or suggestions. After we brought the car up to temperature we find that most of the engine cooling piping has/is developing ping holes from the inside out. Thus after a while we had a mini-steamer going.

Would anyone have any leads on someone or company who might tackle fabrication new piping based on the originals as patterns?

Here is a picture of the engine piping:

Thanks - Bob

1915_Standard_Eight_Delivery-065.JPG

Edited by vwlfan (see edit history)