Connecting rod bearings, '02 3.8 w/95K miles

Reatta Man

So, my '02 PA with a Series II 3.8 blew the harmonic balancer. Replaced it, and now have a knocking connecting rod bearing.

I already have the parts, and when the weather warms a little, will drop the pan and replace the connecting rod bearings. My question is, has any one else done this with good results?

I parked the car within 20-30 miles after hearing the harmonic balancer start to knock. I don't know if the oil pressure dropped; the sensor is bad and constantly reads something ridiculous, like 150 PSI, even if the engine isn't running.

I replaced a badly worn connecting rod bearing on an older Series I engine, with good results. But this is my first time to deal with a bad CR bearing in a Series II engine. A local mechanic told me that if the bearing is knocking, the crankshaft may be bent, or their could be an oil pump problem. I'm hoping the out-of-synch harmonic balancer caused a vibration and threw the crank out enough to wear out the bearing, but not do any other major damage.

I think the engine is pretty solid; I just drove it to Texas from Florida a few weeks ago, with no noises or problems.

Thoughts?

Joe

From a chart on main bearing life I saw at the V-6 engine plant, on a tour of the facility in 1988, at the BCA National Meet . . . the balance shaft 3800 has main bearing life (in proving ground miles) of about 90K, compared to the earlier non-balance shaft motors 15K miles. Getting basic vibrations out of the motor certainly helped, it appears.

When I was selling the balancers to customers for the 3800 V-6, there were no later calls to inquire about bearings. This leads me to suspect that the bearing failure was probably not related to the balancer issue.