Electric Horsepower verses Gas Horsepower

Guest Hal Davis (MODEL A HAL)

Guest Hal Davis (MODEL A HAL)

The air compressor folks WAY over rate their motor HP. It is really nothing more than a marketing scheme. They base it on some meaningless figure like peak HP, or something like that, that happens only for some instant in time, not a useful figure like 550 ft-lbs/sec. This is a real sore point with me. <P>I saw a rule of thumb for calculating the horsepower of an electric motor the other day. It was voltage X amperage / 800.<P>For my "6-1/2 HP" compressor, that comes to 220V x 15A divided by 800 = 4-1/8 HP. Bear in mind that this is a rule of thumb, but it should be close.

1 hp = 746 watts<P>If you are looking at the voltage and amperage plates on your AC motor remember that the amperage listed is probably peak not average. Also, on AC equipment the peak current may not be in phase with the peak voltage. I am not an electrical engineer, so I can't tell you how to figure all that out for an AC motor. DC motors are a lot easier: volts times amps = watts. smile.gif" border="0