1952 Ford Car Customline

Guest mando13

Guest mando13

Hello to all.This is my first time to post so I hope I am doing this correctly.

I have the above model car that I am having a problem with.

The engine is a 215 6 cylinder 6 volt with a 1 barrel carb.

The problem is that after I run it for about 20 minutes or so,If I shut it off and restart it,it will start ok.However,If I shut it off and wait for about 15 minutes before I start it up again,it has a very hard time starting.

Don't know if its the carberator maybe draining off or maybe a bad coil.

I rebuilt the carb.about a year ago.I would like some opinions or suggestions on this problem if possible.Could it also be a Vapor Lock problem?Its all origional.Thanks for your help.

Mando

Guest Jim_Edwards

Sounds as if the starter may be the problem. If it acts as if the starter is struggling the problem may be heat build up. The second starting attempt after letting it sit for a few minutes is giving plenty of time for heat build up to cause everything in the starter to expand and create issues. While the coil could be an issue the points could also be an issue.

Guest mando13

Thanks Jim for the reply.However.I don't think its the starter because it does turn over pretty good,just won't start.Yesterday,I noticed that if I pump the gas paddle for about 6 or more times,it will eventually start.What I think is happening is that the fuel bowl is some how draining itself into the intake and thus the reason for having to pump the gas paddle.I know some about motors but not enough to troubleshoot the problem.When I rebuilt the carb,I had no choice because the carberator as a whole was not available.I am still open for suggestions so if you have anymore tips or ideas on this problem,please let me know.I apreciate your help and that of others that can help.

Mando

Guest rsd9699

Using the shop manual - do a pressure and volumn test on the fuel pump.

Loose screws on the fuel pump housing?