1952 buick shock link issues???

rapidride2

I have a 52' roadmaster in which i am replacing the rear shock links. I ordered a set of reproduction 7" shock links. The driver side was a direct bolt on. However the mounting heims on my original passenger side that was taken off are clocked 180 degrees from each other??? The repro is clocked the same causing about a 2 inch gap when i bring my shock lever up to install it.

I was told that my original shock link (which is ORIGINAL) HAS BEEN TAMPERED WITH??? I am not sure about this??? The shock arm is on correct as well..

How are everyone elses pass side shock links clocked on their big buicks?

Guest martylum

I have a 53 Roadmaster all apart for restoration and have the rear shocks off for a rebuild. The shocks links install on the lever arm hole and the hole in the frame rail from the inside going toward the outside-the holes in shock arm and chassis are tapered. My frame rail tapered hole casting had come loose from its welds during disassembly and I had to reweld to the frame rail.

The shock links have both tapered ends pointing in the same direction. You sure you have a matched set of rear shocks?

Martin Lum

53 Buick 76X Roadmaster

I am sure.

If your body is off the frame, with less or no weight on it, the frame will raise up. That will make the frame move sideways since the stabilizer rod swings in an arc.

I have a bare frame here and I was able to mount the drivers side link, but not the passenger side due to this sideways shift.

But it is very close, not 2" gap (see pics).

I will hook it up after the body is back on it. Mike

post-79354-143138711563_thumb.jpg

post-79354-14313871157_thumb.jpg