Remove Ethanol/Alcohol Separation System

Guest teknosmurf

Guest teknosmurf

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the antique auto industry as a whole, so I freely admit that I have no credability, knowledge, or understanding as of yet.

With that full disclosure out of the way, the reason I am here is because my company (portablefuelsystems.com) recently introduced our Alcohol Separation System at a local airport fly-in event. Interestingly enough, while there was a lot of interest in the aviation community, there was a common theme amongst the visitors to our booth. Many of them said the antique/classic car folks would have a huge interest in removing ethanol from gasoline.

When I did a search on this forum, sure enough, there was over 350 "hits" just fromt he first search, and most of those hits had negative things to say about ethanol.

Now that I am beginning to understand that it is a real problem in your industry, I would love to have some direct feedback from you all. The questions I have are:

1) How big of a problem is ethanol really?

2) What kind of issues does ethanol create that cannot be overcome?

3) For the issues that cannot be overcome, what are some of the ways people "deal with" those issues to lesson the pain of having to endure them?

4) In aircraft (and I suspect is the case with classic cars) the main concerns are things like fuel tanks/bladders, fuel plumbing, carb rubber, phase separation/water absorbtion. Are there any other considerations for your cars?

Thanks all, I appreciate the feedback!

Guest teknosmurf

Hi Wayne,

In a nutshell, the A-S-S (yes, we get a lot of play from the acronym ;) ) removes ethanol/alcohol from gasoline. I am an embedded software engineer by trade, so of course, it is completely automated...set it up, press the "go button" and come back to "clean" gas in the tank and a can full of waste.