My first restoration project....

My car - 1941 Pontiac Torpedo 8cyl 4dr Silver Streak (Either custom torpedo, or torpedo deluxe haven't quite pinned that down, leaning towards deluxe) Has quarter windows front and back. 26,539 miles, interior just needs cleaning, plus there's a little bit of rust showing on the dash board, but not much.

I'm hoping for some guidance/advice, as this is my first project.

I had the car started a few years ago a couple times, so it'll start. my first plan is to change the fluids, and do a brake overhaul. I found a kit on kanter.com for $198 with shoes and wheel cyl kits for all four tires, a master cylendar kit, and 3 brake hoses.

After the i get the brakes done, i think the next step will be the fuel lines. i also spotted some hoses to the heater core/radiator under the front seat i would like to replace.

Then i'll go for spark plugs and wires, and a battery. Tires will follow, then it should be ready for the road right?

Body work will come last, as it isn't the best, but for 70 years not restored, it's in pretty good shape if you ask me. i found a dent and a weird scratch on the passenger rear fender, but it's not terrible. There's one spot rusted through about 2 inches in diameter in the passenger front quarter near the door.

Not sure when i'll really be able to start this process, due to money, but will be looking to through a piece at it here and there. I'm hoping by next june to atleast be able to have it with new brakes and fuel lines getting into the electronics.

Any suggestions would be very helpful

Thanks,

Joe

post-79060-143138670205_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670219_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670233_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670248_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670262_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670276_thumb.jpg

post-79060-14313867029_thumb.jpg

post-79060-143138670304_thumb.jpg