This may be of interest to a collector who's car was damaged

R Walling

I had a similar, but quickly resolved, problem with Hagerty. When my Porsche was smashed in the trailer they only wanted to pay for painting half the car. Since the car had no break lines to paint to, like the Corvette, and the fact that they would have had to shoot clear coat over the repainted section with no guarantee that the primers and paint wouldn't negatively interact, they ceeded and paid to have the whole car painted.

100_2640.jpg

Guest Klayfish

Hopefully this won't go into an insurance bashing thread quickly. :D Without knowing specifics of that case, it's hard to really say if that was a "fair" judgment or not. I work in the auto insurance claims business, have for quite a while. With most newer cars, this isn't an issue. Cars, even new Corvettes, don't get fully repainted when they're in an accident. Collector cars are a whole different story. A lot of it has to do with the fact that the cars are unique, have a documented "history" or things like that.

In this case, I'm guessing he filed damages through the other drivers' insurance, which was a personal lines carrier. Generally, collector car companies are a lot less likely to argue as much on these things than a personal lines carrier. They are much more in tune with the collector car industry and have a better handle on repairing them. Doesn't mean that they'll just give anything the owner or shop wants, but they're more flexible even when they think they're right. My personal recommendation would be if your collector car gets damaged, let your carrier handle it (except for diminished value, which a lot of policies don't cover) and let them go after the other persons' insurance.