Brought the '56 to college with me (overheating?)...

1956century

I'm a University student (yes, I'm young). I've been waiting for the day to bring my car up with me to school and it finally came this past Sunday. I drove the Buick about 70 miles to my place, officially marking the longest trip I've taken in it. I had no idea how it would perform on the freeway and thankfully I wasn't disappointed. It was a bit hard to control at times - I'm not sure if that's due to the Remington bias plys or the steering. I rebuilt the intermediate rod and replaced the tie rod ends. I think it needs a steering box adjustment. I took it up to 80-85 just for kicks and it had more to go. It actually handled better at higher speeds. :)

The car has never really ran hot on me before. In and around town it stays at N, just above it or just below it. However, after a few miles on the highway, it started creeping toward HOT. It stopped just before the red zone and fluctuated a little depending on whether I was going uphill or down. When I got off the highway, it was having trouble cooling back down so I pulled over. It behaved the same way in 80 degree and cooler night temperatures.

• I installed new upper and lower radiator flex hoses. I read that the lower hose can collapse at higher speeds. It does have a spring in it but the angle is kind of tight, so perhaps it's buckling. (need input)
  • I installed a new 160 degree thermostat on Saturday.
  • I flushed out the radiator and block (3 petcocks in total) with a garden hose and added new 50/50 before the winter.
  • The timing is set at 5 degrees as per the shop manual.
  • I read that if the mixture is too lean it can overheat, so I adjusted the carb and set the mixture screws a little richer.

I'm thinking of flushing out the system once more and maybe installing a molded lower hose instead of a flex.

Please let me know your thoughts.

Thanks guys.