Sign in to follow this  
Jonny88

Antique car washing question

Hello everybody, I am curious to get ideas on how you all wash your classic and antique cars, this might sound like a silly question. I am the new owner of a 1951 Oldsmobile Super 88 and wanted to know if there is a certain way or product that is better than the other. The car has all the chrome on it and has a older paint job with WWW tires. Any help would be great. Also I am new at cleaning chrome, is there certain products to get or a proper way to clean it? Thanks guys

Jon

Probably not up to snuff for detailing for a car show, but last summer I was introduced to the concept of simply using a damp microfiber cloth immediately followed by a dry microfiber cloth to clean the car. Works remarkably well for my "driver" quality old car. Flexible: You can dampen the one cloth and put it into a sealed ziploc bag and have everything you need to clean up your car when you reach the destination. Cheap: Buy the microfiber cloths once and then simply launder as necessary.

My old cars I don't wash unless they are barn fresh and need to get 20 years of dirt and bird doo off.

I clean dust off with a California duster. You can't beat it. Clean all the dust off your car in less time than you could get a hose out. Bugs and what not I clean off with spray and wipe products like Mcguires has Ibiz has a spray wax I use more like a cleaner.

I use Mothers mag and Aluminum Polish on scuzzy chrome. Nice chrome can just be cleaned with the same spray detailer and waxed as needed.

I never wash my old cars. I try to keep from getting them wet. No sense in dumping all that water in places it takes forever to dry out of. It's just asking for rust. Old car seals don't seal well aginst 50 and up PSI water pressure.