1920 Cadillac thermostat

Guest Michael Patris

Guest Michael Patris

I have a 1920 Cadillac Model 59 (59 horsepower) seven passenger touring car with about 60,000 original miles. It has been well cared for and the leaking waterpumps have just been rebuilt and installed. The mechanic tells me (I don't have the ability or time myself to work on the car) he could not find the original type thermostats, so he just put everything together without them and said the car would be fine. Okay, we live in Southern California and there is rarely if ever a freeze problem, but if I use this car for parades and because it only goes 35 miles per hour anyway, should I be concerned or insist on having SOME type of thermostats installed? What say you sage members? Thanks, Michael.

Guest 19caddylimo

I have some experience with these theremostats and your mechanic is correct; they're hard to come by. Your car should be just fine without them. Remember, the job of the thermostat is to promote faster engine warm-ups so, amongst other things, the fuel can vaporize a little faster. This would help the engine run a little smoother prior to it coming up to full operating temperature. But you live in a warm climate, so it should be fine.

They were also put in place so your heater would provide heat prior to the engine warming up. But since our cars don't have heaters, it's really a mute point.

Dick Shappy Classic Cars back east is a big-time Cadillac guy. I've seen waterpumps and thermostats in pictures on his website. I've had some dealings with him and his shop and he's a pretty good guy. If you'd like to track down a thermostat, he'd be the one to talk to.

Good luck. Let us know how it worked out.

Guest De Soto Frank

Gentlemen -

How does the thermostat on your early Cadillacs function ( water-throttling or radiator-shutter control), and when were they first employed ?