Intro- 1941 Oldsmobile 96 Custom Cruiser Business Coupe

Guest Rocketboy52

Guest Rocketboy52

I wasn't sure which of the 4 Oldsmobile forums I should post this in, so forgive me if I should post this in the other ones. Also, I recently joined the Classic Oldsmobile forums, so if you are on that forum and are seeing this again, you'll have to forgive me for duplicating the post. I've recently started started the restoration of my 1941 Oldsmobile 96 Custom Cruiser Business Coupe. I've finally got my priorities straight and I'm looking at getting my 1941 Oldsmobile the much needed love she deserves.

Highschool41Olds.jpg

Here she is in her former glory with me as a high school punk

The car was originally my my scoutmaster's car when I was growing up. He didn't know much about cars, and for a "wax job" and other maintenance tasks he would let me drive the car to the high school dances. After I graduated from High school, I remained good friends with my old scoutmaster, and he started having bigger and bigger problems with the car. I ended up rebuilding the brakes, the suspension, re-coring the radiator, and fixing a leaky head gasket for him. One day he got tired of the hassle and offered to sell me the car. With my dad loaning me the $$ I bought it on the spot.

Since then, I've graduated college with an engineering degree, got married, had 2 kids, and finally find myself on good financial footing, with a steady job to tackle the ol 41.

I recently resurected her from the dead, put her on the insurance, bought a new battery and drove her to work a couple of times last month. I had a tire blow out on the freeway and the bias ply spar was flat! :D

My immediate squawks are:

1. leaking thermostat housing
  2. replace hi-low beam headlight switch (short causes the lights to not work))
  3. sandblast/powedercoat the original rims (I'm torn about using the crager wire wheels or restoring the original steel rims with wide white radials))