1936 Buick Special Front Control Arm Pins

Buick36-49

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this whole form...Does anyone know or know anyone who is familiar with the 1936 Buick Special suspension. I need to remove and install the pivot pins in the lower control arms.

How do you remove them and then install new one?:confused:

THANKS

Robert<!-- google_ad_section_end -->

Guest mclbuick2002

Robert

To remove pins you have to first remove front coil springs.The procedure in shop manual can be used except it is easier to first jack up front end and support on jack stands rather than blocking axle /brake drum assembly and then trying to jack frame up to take load off springs.Let me know if you don't have a manual and I will explain better.

Stan

Hello Stan,

Thanks for your reply! I don’t have the shop manual, but am familiar with the fact that you have to take pressure off of the springs. I was able to remove the “shock” (upper) pin easily by removing the locking bolt.

For the (lower) pin I removed the small locking pin that is pressed into the knuckle with a lot of heat. Now, I am trying to either pull out or push out the lower control arm pin. Do I still have to remove the springs? I have a small shop book that does not say much, but mentions an arbor press? Not sure where to go with this one.

Robert

Guest mclbuick2002

Robert

You have to take the springs out to take pressure off the lower control arms.

Jack front frame up and support on jack stands

1/disconnect tie rod ball stud

2/loosen either caster adjuster cap screw 1/2 turn. leave other locked tight to preserve caster adjustment

3/remove upper and lower caster adjuster nuts

4/remove brake assembly complete

5/jack under lower control arm until spring pressure off upper control arm

6/ push out upper control arm pin [you all ready have]

7/ SLOWLY release jack until coil spring falls out

8/ as you have tapered pin out the lower control arm pin should slide out

Stan

Hello Stan!