Sign in to follow this  
kdml

Body Mount Kit

Anyone ever use OPG's body mount kit for a '65 Riviera? Any opinions?

I was noticing Cars, Inc listed individual body mount parts, but no kit and out of pure laziness I thought I would go with OPG's kit instead of ordering individual parts

Thanks

Doug

Give Glenn a call and ask him why he doesn't sell the kit. He's an easy guy to work with.

Think they are all the same basic manufacturer or do you think they come from different manufacturers?

Not sure if they were the same manufacturer or different - just trying to get some opinions before purchasing, as I only want to replace these once.

I have not purchased anything from OPG so I have no experience on the quality of their parts

Thanks Gee Rydes - I will contact Classic Buicks

Anyone know if the classic buicks kit is exactly like original. I just pulled my body mounts and noticed the steel sleeve for the rear most mount is oval and the mounts over the rear springs are larger in diameter. I tried emailing classic buicks with my question, but keep getting an error

Thanks

Thanks Dave - I can handle that modification

Nick - I had downloaded the 63-65 Riviera catalog for Rubber the Right Way and did not see body mounts

I just received the body mount kit from Classic Buicks.

2 of the mounts are different (lower height and wider diameter). The originals I removed from the car all all the same diameter except for the 2 above the rear tires (which are larger), but they all appear to be the same height.

Any thoughts?

In addition, my rear most mounts have oval holes. I was going to do as Gee Rydes suggested and oval the mount, but since the metal insert in the mount is one piece (sleeve and washer) it appears I need to round out the hole in the frame - that sound right?

Thanks

Doug

post-64567-143138469406_thumb.jpg