1924 Light Six Valve Rocker Arm Removal?

I own a 1924 Light Six and need help or advice in removing the valve rocker arm assembly without pulling the head or valves. I have limited mechanical experience but am learning quickly. I purchased a repair manual and it states that the valve rocker arms can be removed and replace quickly, estimating a half hour. It states that I need Studebaker tool SD-62, to remove the nuts holding the assembly in place, which I would guess is extremely difficult to locate. I can’t get a socket on the nut in order to turn it, due the clearance to the valve springs, and turning a wrench on it would be difficult.

Does anyone have experience with this or own the special Studebaker tool?

Here’s a bit of history on the problem: The car developed a miss. I found I have no compression in cylinder No 6 and upon removing the valve cover, I found that one of the valve rocker arm rollers had fallen out. I removed the screen from the bottom of the oil pan and found the roller, still in very good shape, but have not yet located the pin that held the roller in place. If I can remove the rocker arm assembly as described in the repair manual, I should be able to have a good machine shop put the roller back in place or make a new one.

I’ve been told I’ll have to pull the head so I can remove the valves and then the valve rocker roller, but this seems pretty extreme, given the ease of repair described in the manual.

I appreciate any advice on this.

<O:p</O:pThank you,

Dave

Hi Dave