89 Reatta - what is this brake problem?

Reattatude

The lady with this car told me the following, what does this sound like to you guys Im not a Teves expert.

The automated monitoring system announces "a problem with the electrical system has been detected" = No power brakes. Both the Brake and ABS indicator lights come on. A few minutes later they go out and power brakes are back. I drove it home slowly on surface streets so I could stop the car if the power brakes went out again.

If this isnt a major problem I might buy this Reatta. want to look at it tomorrow so I hope someone posts soon!

Both the Brake and ABS indicator lights come on. A few minutes later they go out and power brakes are back.
If that only happens when you press the brake pedal my guess would be the accumulator is bad. If it happens randomly it is likely to be the pump is loosing power due to a bad relay, a bad connection or a bad motor.

I have never saw an error message that specifically says "no power brakes" but I guess it is possible.

Edited by Ronnie (see edit history)

have never saw an error message that specifically says "no power brakes" but I guess it is possible.

Yeah, lol. Well I am hoping to be able to test drive the car, as long as there are some brakes, power or not should be able to stop at lower speeds. Its a nice looking claret/tan w/ body color moulding.

Back in 2007, shortly after I got my Reatta, I had read so much about how the Reatta could not be stopped if the power assist quit working that I decided to do a test to see for myself if it was true or not. Below is what I posted to the forum about my experience when testing. Since I wrote that in 2007 I have read here that the rear brakes do not work when there is no pressure in the system but I didn't know that at the time.