Looking for '53 Olds with Dynaflow for article

Hello all:

I'm a writer for "Cars & Parts" magazine from Amos Press. In addition to full feature articles, I also write the monthly "GM Journal" column.

I just wrote the November "GM Journal" about the Hydramatic plant fire in 1953, and I would like to next column to be about the effect on the cars -- Cadillacs and Oldsmobiles with Dynaflows and Pontiacs with Powerglides.

Does anyone here have a '53 Olds with a Dynaflow? I would like to talk with you.

Thanks,

JON

jon@jongrobinson.com

www.jongrobinson.com

Jon, there is a regular poster at the Cadillac-LaSalle Club forums who owns a '53 Coupe DeVille with Dynaflow. I'll take the liberty of sharing your information there.

The Cadillac isn't an Oldsmobile, but at least it will give you something until a Dynaflow Olds owner can be identified.

I'd say the Cadillac with Dynaflow would be a great C&P article in and of itself, since HydraMatic was always identified with Cadillac as well as Oldsmobile, and both marques had to scramble to keep an automatic transmission available when the HydraMatic plant burned.

Brian, no offense, but it's hard for me to imagine a Cadillac or Oldsmobile that doesn't shift ranges.

Always wondered what other carmakers who used HydraMatic did during that time, Rolls Royce in particular. Or was RR HMT production even affected by the fire, since they were theoretically building it themselves in England under GM patents and licences? I know Lincoln effectively shut down production till the HydraMatic plant was up and running again, but what about the independents who bought HMT?

I'd say the Cadillac with Dynaflow would be a great C&P article in and of itself, since HydraMatic was always identified with Cadillac as well as Oldsmobile, and both marques had to scramble to keep an automatic transmission available when the HydraMatic plant burned.