Why is model year introduction in the fall?

Guest SalG (Sal Grenci)

Guest SalG (Sal Grenci)

Can anyone tell me how model year introductions started in the fall? Why not the spring or the calendar year? Was this a marketing tool? Was it based on the agrarian economy? confused.gif" border="0

To Show/sell What is new for the next year. Sounds good to me. The new model years used to be a big deal. The cars would be kept under cover until the offical day of the start of the new model year, usally in October. Big hype over the new styles, new features, etc.. Now it's more like we aren't selling this year's model very well so let's start selling next year's model in June. (My parents have gotten the first Chevrolet Lumina for a new model year in the June of the previous year). The features are treated more like oh.. that's just something else to lay with. I'd much rather watch some of the old tv ads than to watch any of the new ones.

Sal - It has been 48 years since I studied marketing, but it makes sense to me that you announce and display the NEW year's model before the NEW year arrives. It loses much of its glamour and excitement if in March you announce the NEW models. Hell, the year is not new anymore. <P>IT'S A MARKETING GIMMICK. cool.gif" border="0 <P>Back in 1940 Cadillac introduced most of the new models in the fall of '39, but a few body styles, the 62 series, were not produced until early in '40. I believe some of the 1st catalogues did not even picture these few body styles. This was an instance of a new model not being available at introduction time in the fall. However, it was not INTRODUCED in the spring, it just didn't become AVAILABLE until in the spring. At least that is the way I view it. I could be wrong. rolleyes.gif" border="0 <P>All marketing, Sal ~ hvs<p>[ 11-23-2001: Message edited by: hvs ]