1963 Rambler wagon -overdrive trans question

Guest blue63ram

Guest blue63ram

I just purchased a 1963 Rambler wagon and the previous owner had replaced the manual trans with a different manual trans that he got from the back of a old trans shop. He didn't have any idea of what this trans came out of, but it did fit and shift with a floor conversion kit, thou not as smoothly as I would like.. I went underneath today and found that this trans is diffinently NOT the original model and it appears to have several electric wires coming out of a cylinder from the side of the trans. Could this possibly be a 3 speed manual with the electric overdrive model and if so, is it possible to hook up the overdrive to a switch to activate it.

Does anyone have a picture or diagram of what the overdrive trans looks like. I'm very new to Ramblers and I know very little about these cars, but am very willing to learn. Any help will greatly be appreciated.

The late fifties and early sixties Ramblers did use the T-96 BorgWarner three-speed stick tranny with or without the overdrive. The first gear is not synchronized but 2nd and 3rd gear are. That cylinder you are referring to with the wires coming out of it is the overdrive solenoid. It's BW R11 model overdrive unit. The same overdrive was used in Studebakers for years and I believe in Packards too.

You need to get a service manual for your car, but I'm pretty sure overdrive diagrams for the BW units are available on the web. Some more information about the ramblers can be found at www.amcencyclopedia.org I believe. You also should google the AMC mail list and go to www.amcforum.com to get access to several hundred AMC guys, many of whom have old Ramblers.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

You can wire the solenoid through a switch on the dash and have OD in any forward gear.

Not a good idea to use it in low from a dead stop (hard on the clutch).

It also acts like a hill brake when you stop on a hill with it engaged.