1990 Repair of Stereo System

Guest mosley1961

Guest mosley1961

I just bought a 1990 Reatta that is about 90 percent restored. The previous owner had it painted (nice job) but put a plug in the antenna opening and discarded the power antenna. The radio works after a fashion as it does pick up public radio on FM. I have bought an aftermarket power antenna and think I'll get decent reception after it's installed.

The real problem I have is the rear speakers are blown. I'm no expert at auto sound systems, hence this post. I bought two 6" by 9" coaxial speakers with 4 ohm impedance to replace the blown rear speakers.

Will this work? This appears to be the correct speaker size - am I right? Is the 4 ohm impedance going to be a problem? Any advice?

Edited by mosley1961 (see edit history)

Do you get loud crackling/popping noise coming from the rear speaker(s)? Because, they may not be blown, but rather the capacitors in the radio are crapping-out.

There's lots of information about people replacing these capacitors. I need to attempt that repair myself.

FYI, the crackling/popping noise happens regardless of the volume setting or even if muted.

Guest mosley1961

The speakers sound as if the base has been blown out - there is no crackling noise at all. My assumption is someone cranked up the hard rock too much and blew them out - my only term for this sound.

I assume the 6" by 9" size is correct for the 1990 model year. That's what they look like, anyway.

I've got the parts and am going to have them installed tomorrow, based upon the impedance issue appearing to be OK. I'll advise as to success or failure.

The factory front system in 4 ohms, the rears are 10 ohms. I have no idea why they did it this way. Maybe due to efficiency differences with the drivers and their enclosures?