test abs system ?

Guest khend

is there ne test to find out why the abs light comes on ? rather than take to a repair shop r spend a ton of money ? the car is a 90 reatta . maybe a link to the code site r something ? not very good at this yet but im learning !!!!

Reatta Owners Journal - Reatta.net Brake TestReport your results back here and we will try to help diagnose your problems. If you will give detailed posts about your problems it will really help us help you.

Please add the model of your Reatta, (and any other relative information), to your signature line. It will make it easier for us to help you with answering your questions without repeatedly asking you about the Reatta you own.

Click "User CP" in the menu at the top of this page and scroll down to "Edit Signature"

Thanks!

I am no expert either, but I would start by reading thru the manual to find out what the resistance is at where the brake sensor lead connects inside the engine compartment. If it is outside the specs listed in the manual that is the one to start with.

More then likely it is either one or both of the front sensor leads.

I just went thru this. We tested the plug at the EBCM in the trunk and checked our work at the connections in the engine compartment and both tests indicated that both front wheel sensors were bad and after replacing them they were bad as the light promptly went out and stayed out.

As mentioned, we need more information:

- is it only the yellow ABS light or the ABS and the BRAKE (red) light ?

- WHEN does it come on ? (Within a few seconds of starting ? only when moving ?)

- Have you pulled the ABS codes ? (section 5E in the FSM, if you CAN'T pull the codes, that is a specific symptom) - have to jumper A-G (88) or A-H (89-90) on the ALDL and count the flashes of the yellow ABS light.

Of the seven tests, 1-6 are really of the boost system, only test 7 relates to the ABS.

This will get it started