1940 lincoln continental convertible

Guest kram

HELLO ALL, I AM A NEWBIE TO THE CLUB AND HAVE SOME QUESTIONS ON MY OLD CONTINENTAL. THIS VEHICLE WAS REPAINTED ABOUT FIFTY YEARS AGO AND NOW SOMEWHAT ROUGH ALSO THE SEATS R REALLY STARTING TO COME APPART. OTHER THAN THAT THE CAR IS IN GREAT SHAPE EVERYTHING IS OPERATIONAL EXEPT FOR RADIO. THE CAR IS ALL ORIGNAL EXPEPT FOR PAINT, WILL I HURT VALUE OF VEHICLE IF I JUST REPAIR SEATS AND PAINT TO MAKE VEHICLE MORE APPEALING. OR JUST LEAVE THE CAR ALONE AND LIVE WITH IT. WOULD RATHER NOT TRY TO DO A COMPLETE RESTORATION AT THIS TIME. ALL COMMENTS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

THANKS IN ADVANCE

MARK D LEBLANC

Hi Mark and welcome to the club,

About the only advice I could offer would be, what are you happy with? It has already been painted once, so the paint is no longer original. You could go ahead and repaint and as long as it was in an original color, you would be just fine and not hurt the value of it. But unless you are capable of doing this yourself, this is big dollars to have it done right.

There is a production slip available for your car and all you need to get one is a few bucks and the serial number of the car. This slip will show the date built, what options were on the car, the color, and what the interior was, all leather or leather and whipcord, as well as the shipping date. If you do a search on this forum, you should find the address, or someone will no doubt chime in and supply it.

I can tell you this much. I have just about completed a total restoration of a 41 Continenal Cabrolet and the following will apply. It will take three times longer that you think it will once you start a restoration. It will cost LOTS more than you would have thought when it comes to the cost of a total restoration.