NC Streetrod Titles

I'm new to the street rod owner world and I am trying to get my 1929 Model A pick up titled. It is a street rod with a chevy drivetrain and I am being told by the inspector that I need to register it as a custom build because I don't have the original engine serial tag for proof that the truck I am claiming is the truck I actually have. Is this true? The street rod is from NY originally and NY does not issue titles for vehicles 1972 and older. I am just trying to get some information so I can figure out if I am getting the raw deal from the NC DOT. If you could, please post links too so I can have proof. Thank you very much!!!

That might have been true prior to 8-5-09. They just changed the law on this parts were effective 8-5-09 and parts of it are effective 10-1-09.

I am not yet very familiar with all of the ins and outs of the new law. Here it is:

http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2009/Bills/Senate/PDF/S820v6.pdf

The text is as follows:

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 2009

SESSION LAW 2009-405

SENATE BILL 820

*S820-v-6*

AN ACT TO CREATE NEW MOTOR VEHICLE TITLING AND REGISTRATION

CATEGORIES FOR MOTOR VEHICLES CLASSIFIED AS REPLICA VEHICLES,

STREET RODS, AND CUSTOM VEHICLES, AND TO MAKE CORRESPONDING

CHANGES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 20-4.01(43) reads as rewritten:

"(43) Specially Constructed Vehicles. – Vehicles of a type required to be

registered hereunder not originally constructed under a distinctive name,

make, model, or type by a generally recognized manufacturer of vehicles

and not materially altered from their original construction.Motor vehicles

required to be registered under this Chapter and that fit within one of the

following categories:

a. Replica vehicle. – A vehicle, excluding motorcycles, that when

assembled replicates an earlier year, make, and model vehicle.

b. Street rod vehicle. – A vehicle, excluding motorcycles, manufactured