Question for Steve M (Olds Ltd)

caf

Hi Steve, I've been reading about the unrestored Ltd, it was here for Pebble Beach, They keep mentioning that it is only one of three. I count 4,(Olds GM, Belf, Lucas, & Grey. I believe these are all 11's isn't that correct?? I guess Nethercutt's doesn't count as it is a Limo.

All the best, Chuck

I look forward to seeing it at the museum during Hershey Week.

How is this different from the car the late Mr. Neller (VMCCA Past Pres) drove on the Gliddens back in the '90s ? I'm not an Olds expert - thanks for any info.

I remember Dick's car as being huge.

On the 1992 Glidden in Lexington, KY, my little '27 Chevy Roadster was behind Dick's Oldsmobile, waiting for a long freight train to clear a crossing on a country road. We could almost see completely under his car.

Dick was a tall man, especially when compared to me.

When the crossing gates opened, a School Bus passed in the opposite direction, and Dick was EYE-TO-EYE with the kids on that big yellow bus, and they absolutely loved seeing him and his car.

Chuck, I hope to post a picture from Pebble but it is coyrighted so I am trying to get permission. The 3 came from an incorrect statement in the RM Catalog. Including the Limo I count 5 plus (there is a restoration project ongoing that could lead to more). The Olds took a second in the class at Pebble. Looks quite a bit different in the "new" tires and wheels plus the correct lamps (all made to look aged).

What sort of auto are you talking about? Got any photos of the car that the school kids were eye to eye to the driver with?

Here's a link to a site that shows "Whitey", that Steve restored. Unfortunately there's no one in the picture to give you a sense of perspective... Whitey is a _big_ b@$+@rd! It's a magnificent automobile - Oldsmobile Limited. Rather than me garbling up the details of when they were built etc, I'll let somebody else provide that info!