23 Model T Oil & gas leak

Guest mmichie

Guest mmichie

I'm new at antiques. There is a car show here in Manti, Utah end of August and I thought I would get my parents 23 Model T running and put it in it.

The car has been sitting for probably 10 years. I did get it to run last week. Ran around the block a few times. I have two problems I need to address.

One is gas leak. Before we ran it I clean the carb out. It leaks around the threads that holds the bowl on. There is no gasket or anything here. Should there be? If not what is the best way to seal the threads?

The other problem is an oil leak. Right on top of the Transmission behind the head is a fitting that a copper lines attaches to. This copper line goes to the front of the block down by the crank. Oil pump I assume. Also on this fitting is an electrical wire. It leaks around this fitting on the top of Trans. This is a major leak almost a continual stream off the bottom of the block. I plan on tearing into it this weekend. Can anyone give me advice on what this might be or concerns I have when taking it apart?

In my sixty years of Model T driving seems as if most of them usually have three puddles underneath: oil, gasolene, and water. I've more or less accepted the fact that as soon as I fix one leak, another will spring up somewhere else. Gasolene leaks, of course, require immediate attention for safety's sake.

Yep...it's kinda like the old saying about British cars, "If it does not leak water through the roof and oil out the bottom, it ain't British". If there's no puddle, it ain't a Model T Ford. My good friend Ash Bishop in San Diego would always take his Model T for a ride. Whenever he parked it, the 1st thing he would do is get out, go to the trunk and pull out a piece of carpet and throw it down under his engine.

Edited by keiser31 (see edit history)