'65 Door Panel Wood Replacement

Patrick91914

Has anyone out there replaced the door panel wood inserts using one of the wood replacement kits? I got as far as separating the "frame" from the door panel and saw no easy way to remove the old wood. I have no experience here (except for the console inserts). Is the best way just to have a upholstery shop do the work? Would be interest to know if anyone has gone that route.

I'm thinking of soaking them in water for a few weeks to soften/remove, but I want to know if there is a better approach. Also,

Edited by Patrick91914 (see edit history)

Guest REX STALLION

I used a syringe filled with lacquer thinner to release the bond. Start at a corner, ease a wee bit of thinner under the edge and coax it along with a putty knife. to apply the new panels, I used a spray adhesive ( 3M super 77) . after masking off the chrome bits.

I used a syringe filled with lacquer thinner to release the bond. Start at a corner, ease a wee bit of thinner under the edge and coax it along with a putty knife. to apply the new panels, I used a spray adhesive ( 3M super 77) . after masking off the chrome bits.

I suspect that this would not be an easy task. My weekend is now booked.

Guest REX STALLION
I suspect that this would not be an easy task. My weekend is now booked.

It will be easier than you think !

Guest ejc65

When I did mine I removed all the chrome pieces they came apart relatively easy I then took off old wood paneling with putty knife then proceeded to bead blast all residue from main panel installed new wood kit polished all chrome pieces then installed reverse order from tear down. Scale of 1-10 about a 5 on difficulty. My advice tear into it and if you find it is to complex for you just label every thing as it came off. You will find it is tedious but not brain surgery.

Guest musclecarfan65