38 Buick Series 40 Mystery Problems

Guest Tsmith

Guest Tsmith

Just got a 38 buick series 40 as a gift so I am a novice starting this journey. It is in pretty good shape and will run but getting her started and not overheating sometimes is an issue. If anyone has any ideas please post..thanks.

The car ran fine until the issue noted below. The problem now is if I dont get it started on the first (or so turnover) it is really hard to start (usually wont and I have to let it sit for several hours. Past the original starting problem...if it does start it will run great but once I turn it off, it appears to have to cool off quite a bit before it will start again, or even hardly turn over. It is a 6v system and when this happens, I can sometimes hook up a 12V booster to the battery and it will crank right up, or may just barely turn over. i have not been able to identify a pattern of which may occur.

Here are some possible contributing factors -

Fuel problem - The car had a leaking gas tank which I have removed and fixed. In the process, I decided tounscrew the glass bowl filter directly in line to the carb to clean it out. The gasket had disentegrated and I did clean it out but after several attempts to make a gasket, I could not get the bowl to stop leaking....so I removed it and just bypassed it with rubber fuel line(there is another fuel filter down further down the line) Could not having this inline bowl filter be causing it to flood on initial start? I was not sure if it served some other function.

Overheating - I have not really had the car at the "overheat" point but it does get pretty hot and that appears to cause the not wanting to start issue once it has run. When I remove the radiator cap I can see it is filled to the top with antifreeze, but the level never seams to drop. Shouldn't the fluid levels drop as the antifreeze/water moves into the engine? Is this a sign that the radiator is stopped up?