Point deductions for re-bodies? (30's)

If a car is re-bodied as a different style of body such as going from a closed car to open car, or even from a 2 door model to a 4 door model (open bodied cars), are there any point deductions based on the re-body. If so, what are they? Assuming the restoration was done correctly and the body is exactly the same as the particular body type it was modeled after, or an original body section was used to make the transformation complete is there any kind of penalty avoided as opposed to a re-body that isn't a period correct body for the car. Thanks in advance!

Pierce Guy,

I now have 7 judging credits (getting right up there. smile.gif ), so I'm no expert, but every AACA judging school and CJE I've attended has started off by stating; "What would this car have looked like when delivered from the dealership?"

That says to me, that if, in fact, a Pierce had both a 2 door and a 4 door car available for sale, then as long as it "appeared" authentic, then it is judged as authentic on an AACA Show Field. We do not check serial numbers, frame numbers, what have you to distinguish the differences.

Correct me ShopRat! grin.gif

Wayne

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: R W Burgess</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Pierce Guy,

I now have 7 judging credits (getting right up there. smile.gif ), so I'm no expert, but every AACA judging school and CJE I've attended has started off by stating; "What would this car have looked like when delivered from the dealership?"

That says to me, that if, in fact, a Pierce had both a 2 door and a 4 door car available for sale, then as long as it "appeared" authentic, then it is judged as authentic on an AACA Show Field. We do not check serial numbers, frame numbers, what have you to distinguish the differences.

Correct me ShopRat! grin.gif

Wayne </div></div>

Wayne, no need to. That is what we are told.