Any thoughts on Dynamat?

Rawja

As I'm putting new speakers in my car and because the PO put standard automotive carpeting in, I'm looking at completely removing and re-installing the interior to put proper Reatta carpeting in place.

Is Dynamat-ing the interior a worthwhile endeavor?

If it is, is the much cheaper knock-off stuff any good?

I have no actual experience....however there are lots of similar products on Ebay for sale. Type in Dynamat and you will get products that sell for less than half the Dynamat price.

Putting one of these products around the rear wheel wells should isolate some road noise. The same could be done in the front. I would also think there are some benefits to putting something on the inner door skins, if for no other reason than insulation.

Think about a cars construction (any car) what is between you and the outside? At the top, you have a headliner and sheetmetal, with an R factor of about 1, some insulation could make a big difference in both retaining heat and cold.

Whenever I work on a headliner, I use the foil insulator with the bubble pack material in the center. It is cheap and will cut down on noise and increase the R insulation value.

I've found that Dynamat does a great job, but as previously stated, comes at a premium. I would advise getting the dynamat xtreme that has the aluminum layer, it dampens considerably better.

If the aluminum adiabatic thing doesn't float your boat, you can look at other brands of asphalt mat, you can get it anywhere.

I have actually been rather pleased with the road noise dampening properties of plain old spray on undercoating and or truck bed liner. It will make your vehicle drive quieter, but dynamat is the real thing for sound quality, I've installed it on and off for a few years, and its great stuff.

I guess it depends if you are trying to have a quieter ride or a better sounding stereo system.