Collectible Buick or Not?

Guest BJM

That is actually a really neat car. By 89, the Somerset had been renamed a skylark. But there was not a T Type skylark but there was a gran touring option with wider tires etc. That 3300 engine is a smaller version of the 3800. In that size car that ought to be a nice performance engine, but I have no experience with them directly.

That isn't an '89. As was mentioned above, the Somerset wasn't made after '87 and by '89 they had switched over to composite headlamps.

I always liked 'em, thought they were pretty stylish. Though I really liked the '92 redesign too so clearly I'm out of step.

Guess what guys! This one's real! Or at least it could be.

Those 14" wheels appear to be 1986 Somerset T-Type wheels. They were optional on plebeian Somesets with Grand Touring suspension, however, but I don't remember seeing too many. Those photos are awful, but everything in them is consistent with a <span style="font-weight: bold">198<span style="text-decoration: underline">6</span></span> Somerset T-Type. This was the only year for a T-Type N-body. If it's titled as 1989 or has a 3.3L tucked into it, then is a mongrel (which is pretty common for a 1980s car that's made it this long).

The 1986 T-Type Somerset came with a 3.0L V6. There was a total production of 3,558 according to <span style="font-style: italic">The Standard Catalog of Buick</span>. That's pretty rare.